Free Museum Sunday

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Last free museum Sunday of the year! I managed to get to three museums today which surpassed my goal of one. Olivia and I had cappuccinos at La Ménagère at 7:30 AM and headed to the Uffizi with Colleen. We waited in line for a good 75 minutes, and once we were in, we headed to the Botticelli room. I went to the Uffizi in October with my Writing for College class, but for some reason, I couldn’t recall seeing its most famous masterpieces! The Birth of Venus and Primavera are simply capturing in size, detail, and revolution. We’ve talked about them in philosophy throughout the past couple weeks.

FullSizeRender 9

The Uffizi

FullSizeRender 3

FullSizeRender

Sleepy Coll

FullSizeRender 8

FullSizeRender 2

FullSizeRender 5

Leonardo da Vinci

I went home to nap for a couple hours then Sasha and I got more coffee and headed to the Bargello (at which there was no line). It’s a huge museum! We got to see Donatello’s bronze David and some really neat sculptures, rugs, paintings, and artifacts.

FullSizeRender 4

the Bargello

FullSizeRender 6

Photo credits: Sasha

We were going to go home after the Bargello, but then we decided to go to Pitti Palace. We waited in like for two hours, and it began to rain. A kind, young, blonde American woman and an elderly Italian couple used their umbrellas to protect us. It was very nice of them! The American told us she’s from Dallas and is visiting Italy before her sister in London. She’s moving to Boston to work, for she recently graduated from med school. She was impressed we were freshmen studying/living abroad; she said she doesn’t think she could’ve!

We finally got into the palace, and it was ginormous. I didn’t expect to see so many paintings and frescoes! The interior was ornate and decorated with antique furniture. We basically just walked through all the rooms in awe.

We also checked out the modern art exhibit. This was my favorite painting:

FullSizeRender 10

The Boboli Gardens would’ve been great to see again (and for free), but we didn’t have umbrellas with us. We skipped grocery shopping and treated ourselves to dinner at the recently opened pasta restaurant neighboring and owned by Simbiosi. We scarfed the ragù and cheesecake down– wet hair, dresses, and all.

FullSizeRender 11

FullSizeRender 7

FullSizeRender 12

I am so proud of myself for making it out to Florence’s museums; it was the perfect dreary day for it. I wish I could say I could spend all day in a museum, but I can’t. I appreciated the works I saw though! I can continue to study art history and reference art history to what I saw in Florence. One May goal accomplished! xo ~ e.

Leave a Reply

