Lazy Sunday

Sunday, April 9, 2017

Jill and I spent a majority of this Sunday in bed to sleep! She’s had a booked schedule for the past four weeks, and I was still pretty wiped from this week. However, I got out to see Godspell at St. Mark’s Church on Via Maggio this afternoon. Some FFEs were involved in the musical (acting and helping backstage), and I haven’t been to a theatrical show all year. Sasha and I knew nothing about this religious-themed musical, but we went anyways. The theater in the round made it a very intimate setting, the children in it were adorable, and the music was invigorating. I love live productions, because they pull you into someone else’s story while in the present. As I sat in the audience, I couldn’t help but think of admiring my good friend Maria when she shined onstage in The Addams Family and The Wizard of Oz. I’ve always had an appreciation for theater, and I’m so glad I got to experience a show in Firenze.

FullSizeRender 2

I promised myself I would purchase a leather journal before May 20. I kept my promise yesterday when I bought this beautiful, custom, leather-bound journal at a journal shop on Via de Pucci. It happens to be located right next to one of my classroom buildings. It’s nice, because I’ve walked past is several times a week; I’ll remember the shop more clearly.

The next promise I have for myself is to fill this journal’s pages with a travel memoir of Florence, Italy. Over the next couple years, I’ll compile my journals, blog posts, memories into this special book. I also want to eventually submit a finished manuscript to publishers. I don’t know anyone who has written and published a memoir about spending his/her first year of college in Europe. I’m driven to be the first. xo ~ e.

FullSizeRender

 

One thought on “Lazy Sunday

Leave a Reply

