#Marist2021

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

I’m currently in contact with some prospective FFE students who may join Marist’s Class of 2021! I reached out to an admissions counselor at Marist in January and said I want to talk to prospective students about my experience abroad. I remember a year ago wanting to know so badly what life would be like as a freshman in Florence. I talked to many FFE alums and watched all the Marist Italy YouTube videos, but I couldn’t really picture an abroad life for myself until I got here. The best part about the FFE Program is that everyone has a unique and individual experience. It is what you make of it. Florence caters to a wide variety of interests, hobbies, and passions. Just like a college campus, it has something for everyone.

The seniors I’ve heard from are really interested in the program! It’s so much fun for me to answer their thoughtful questions and share my experience, because a year ago, I was the one asking the many questions about transitioning, packing, budgeting, etc….

I remember how stressful it was last April with the May 1 decision deadline. I think at that point, I knew Marist and Florence is where I was destined to be. To any seniors reading this blog post, have faith that you will end up where you belong and you will thrive there. xo ~ e.

Here’s what I sent to the accepted FFE Students:

Ciao!

Mi chiamo Emma, and I’m a current FFE at Marist. Alex Tom (a Marist admissions counselor) gave me your email, and I thought I would reach out. First off, congratulations on your acceptance to Marist and the FFE Program! I know how stressful applying to college is and waiting to hear decisions, but trust me when I say it will all work out. Enjoy the last few weeks of high school, because they will fly! 

Here’s a little blurb about me… I’m from southern Vermont and went to an all girls boarding school in upstate New York. After four years of living in a dorm, I knew I wanted a unique college experience. Living and studying in Florence continues to fulfill my desire! Having the once in a lifetime opportunity to study abroad as an eighteen year old was simply one I could not pass up. I hadn’t been to Europe before, and I knew I would be surrounded by students who were mature, motivated, and independent. The FFE Program, School of Communications, proximity to NYC, tight-knit community, abroad emphasis, and internship opportunities were ultimately what led me to choose Marist over Ithaca, Emerson, Fordham, and Elon last May.

My freshman experience in Europe has exceeded my expectations by far. I have loved every aspect of studying abroad and would recommend it to anyone who wants a challenge and to stand out from his/her peers. The academics are very manageable, our FFE group is very close, and traveling is quite accessible. Thinking about leaving in less than two months is really sad! I would stay longer if I could. 

If you have ANY questions about Marist, the FFE Program, etc…, please do not hesitate to reach out. I found it so helpful talking to current, past, and future FFEs as I started to make my final college decision. Also, feel free to check out my blog because I write about my time here in Europe every day! My advice for you is to take the next couple weeks to visit schools (especially during accepted student days), weigh pros and cons, and talk to as many students as you can before committing to the school you feel is the best fit for you. Good luck and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Best,

Emma LeMay ’20

emma.lemay1@marist.edu

www.ehl9626.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

