Family Weekend

Forgive me for the short blog post… I’ve been playing catch up!

Friday, March 31, 2017

Poor Aunt Louise must’ve caught a case of food poisoning, because she was in bed practically all day! Hopefully she’ll feel better tomorrow after sleeping it off. Carl, Dave, and I ate paninis after they visited the David at the Galleria (Dave was named after the David– fun fact from Nana). We also helped ourselves to two servings of gelato (My Sugar & Edoardo’s of course). The three of us climbed the Bell Tower and loved the view of Florence and the Duomo. I gave them a brief tour of the city before freshening up for a late dinner at Santarpia. It was still packed when we sat down at 10 PM! Carl and Dave devoured their pizzas, and we even got dessert (surprise: it wasn’t gelato). xo ~ e.

IMG_6377

IMG_6382

Saturday, April 1, 2017

Full day in Florence today with the entire Dauenheimer clan (Louise feels better)! Here’s what we covered. xo ~ e.

  • the Uffizi (minus me)
  • exploring the crafts market in the piazza below their hotel room

IMG_6409

  • lunch at La Ménagère

IMG_6390

  • climbing the Duomo

IMG_6392

  • Boboli Gardens

IMG_6403

  • Piazzale Michelangelo
  • dinner at Osteria Santo Spirito

FullSizeRender 2

IMG_6407

Sunday, April 2, 2017

This morning I had to say goodbye to the Dauenheimers, because their European vacation came to an end. It was so fun showing them around Florence, eating dishes of Italy’s finest cuisine, and hearing about the time/events at home I’ve missed this year. I hope we’ll make it to Jersey this summer to visit and witness Ranger swim in the pool!

Th1rteen R3asons Why just came out on Netflix, and I’ve been binge watching it. It’s a series, produced by Selena Gomez, adapted after the book by Jay Asher. It deals with the suicide of Hannah Baker and thirteen reasons (thirteen people) that caused her to take her own life. It’s a heavy plot that deals with the harsh realities of high school. I never had a public high school experience, but from what I’ve heard from friends who attended one for four years, the series unfortunately depicts a realistic high school environment. I recommend watching & reading the book! I plan on reading it after I finish the series VERY soon. xo ~ e.

4 thoughts on “Family Weekend

Leave a Reply

