Sensational Sunday 

Sunday, March 26, 2017

It wasn’t the 35€ purchase of cute shirts and T-shirt dresses at Primark or the heavenly salad at Cau for dinner  that made this Sunday sensational. It was the visit to the Anne Frank House that made it memorable and meaningful.

I have always been fascinated by the Holocaust, and I’m thoroughly enjoying my history class focused on such an important time in history this semester. Getting to be in the house of a famous female journalist was truly chilling and inspirational. The house included pages from her actual diary, layouts of the house, biographies, videos, the wall Anne collaged on, photographs of the Frank family, the original bookshelf that hid the eight Jews when Netherlands was occupied by Nazis. Being able to connect the dots with what I’ve learned in the classroom only enhanced my museum experience. My favorite part was seeing her original journal and skimming the letters she wrote to Kitty. One of the quotes I remember explains how Anne desperately wanted to be a writer/journalist. Although she passed at a young age, she is one of the most successful, honest, and revered (female) writers of the 20th century. Her diary and story will only continue to move and inspire others. I am so happy I got to read her edited diary in middle school in Vermont and also pages from her real diary in the actual home she hid in for two years during WWII in Amsterdam. I still can’t comprehend the events that occurred revolving around religious anti-semitism; it was such a dark and tragic period in world history. However, it’s heroes like Anne that give me hope for the future. xo ~ e.

One thought on “Sensational Sunday 

  1. Nana says:

    I read the “Diary” when I was your age and it’s stayed with me all these years. Sounds like Amsterdam was worth the visit.

Leave a Reply

