Reimbursement

Saturday, March 18, 2017

Went to the market this morning to encourage healthy midterms week eating


My hectic journey to Florence after an exciting week in Kyiv (read about it here) has thankfully come and gone, but I’ve continued to receive some positive ‘aftershocks’ post flight. Upon return in Florence, I sent a genuine and honest email to Air France. I wrote:

Ciao,

I am an American college freshman studying in Florence this year and had some issues on my return yesterday from Amsterdam to Bologna (Flight KL 1591). As I’m sure your company is aware, the Bologna airport was closed for several hours due to an unfortunate accident on the runway. Luckily, there were no injuries, and our jet safely diverted to Venice. I was supposed to take a train from Bologna to Florence; however, by the time the bus (from Vernice) would get to Bologna, there weren’t any trains to Florence until the next day. After knowing this information, I regrouped and decided to stay in Venice for the night (there weren’t any trains to Florence from there either). I bought a hotel room for 99 euros and a train ticket for 50 euros in order to make my first 9 AM class of the semester in Florence. I am kindly requesting compensation for my hotel room and train ticket (I have receipts). I understand that this was an inevitable inconvenience for many passengers like myself and your company. But at the same time, I couldn’t make it back to Florence last night as a result, thus having to spend more money to reach my final destination. Please let me know if I can A) Have credit added to the card I paid for the flight with or B) Be given a free flight for the near future.

Buona giornata,

Emma LeMay 

The first email I got was from Air France saying that Delta takes care of KLM’s compensations. I emailed Delta and didn’t hear from there for several days. I checked in with Air France yet again, and they said to be patient. So I was! Then I got a hopeful email from Air France, including a reimbursement attachment.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.57.39 PM

Only 32.68 euros?! Not as much as I hoped (and a very random number), but I took it. It’s better than nothing!

The other day I got another email from Delta that said this:

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.57.00 PM

Ann mistyped $150 for $50, because when I went to redeem the gift, the value was $150. I could’ve chosen a gift card to Best Buy, Barnes and Nobles, Macy’s, etc…, but I chose the Delta Gift Card for a future flight!

This entire thing was a huge learning experience. I’ll never forget my unpredictable solo travel adventure from Ukraine to Italy, and I did get my fair compensation! It helps to be polite and friendly when requesting compensation from customer service (being a young adult doesn’t hurt either). Where to next?! xo ~ e.

2 thoughts on “Reimbursement

Leave a Reply

