It’s a Small (Emma) World

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

I just got back from eating cannoli (plural of ‘cannolo’ in Italian is ‘cannoli’) with Katherine, a senior at Emma! Yesterday on my way to get Chinese food with Sasha and Vasudha, I saw her and her parents on a side street off the Duomo. Such a small world! Her family is doing a ‘Grand Tour’ of Italy during her two week spring break. We met up tonight at the Mercato Centrale and talked about her senior year at Emma and my freshman year in Florence. It was so nice seeing a familiar face (even though we didn’t know each other very well in Troy) and talking about our beloved Mt. Ida! Like I was a year ago from now, she’s bittersweet about leaving Emma next year. However, she’s looking forward to attending college whose name is TBD. She filled me in on Revels, Ring Week, and other campus happenings. I can’t wait to see her and the rest of the class of 2017 graduate in June! The Emma bond is one that follows you well after commencement. It was crazy spending the weekend with Elaine and then seeing Katherine. Felt like a piece of Emma was with me 4,000 miles away. xo ~ e.

Leave a Reply

