Festa della Donna

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Buona Festa della Donna! Happy International Women’s Day! Here’s to all the empowering females out there in the world. I am enamored by the inspiration and strength of the women who have influenced my life and those who have used their voices to change the world. Women’s rights, opinions, and actions matter!

I saw men carrying flowers for their ladies today on the Florentine streets, and the museum lines were quite long due to the free admission for women. My fashion professor expressed how she thinks Women’s Day is silly, because “Every day should be women’s day.” She has a valid point!

I am extremely grateful to be a woman. It’s not always easy being a woman in today’s society, but it’s easier now than it was one hundred years ago. I take pride in graduating from Emma Willard School. Emma taught me what it meant to be a feminist on both ends of the spectrum. Not only was I surrounded by intelligent young women there, but I was encouraged by my teachers, mentors, and coaches to fully embrace being a woman. I would have never attained a high level of confidence & perseverance anywhere else.

I’ll leave you with a quote from an actress who I look up to. Be sure to see Emma Watson star as Belle in Disney’s rendition of Beauty and the Beast hitting theaters March 17!

“I was appointed six months ago, and the more I have spoken about feminism, the more I have realized that fighting for women’s rights has too often become synonymous with man-hating. If there is one thing I know for certain, it is that this has to stop.”

“For the record, feminism, by definition, is the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities. It is the theory of the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes.”

– Emma Watson

FullSizeRender.jpg

Current location: Ditta Artigianale  •  20:35

Pictures from dinner last night at Zeb (Jill’s friend, Grace, is visiting for her spring break)!

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

One thought on “Festa della Donna

Leave a Reply

