Free Museum Sunday

Sunday, March 5, 2017

What a spectacular Sunday! It started off with a trip to the Galleria dell’Accademia after a cappuccino with Sasha at La Ménagère. We sipped our coffees al bar, admiring our favorite, handsome baristas. Florence has this awesome thing where the public museums offer free admission on the first Sunday of every month. You can save a lot of money by taking advantage of this! I am sad to say this is the first time I participated in Free Museum Sunday. I vowed I would in April & May too.

Seeing the David for the first time in person is a pretty neat experience. After going through security and getting your ticket ripped, you walk down a hall, turn left, then turn right and BAM: there it is. It’s so much bigger than you can imagine! I was shocked by its size. Michelangelo outdid himself. This is such a masterpiece. The amount of detail and precision is unbelievable. The David symbolizes humanism during the Renaissance. It. is. epic. We did notice the hands weren’t proportional, but we won’t fuss over that. I was literally in awe as I analyzed it from all angles; it is such an old and historic piece of art.

img_5317

img_5320

Sasha and I were inspired by the David, so we headed to the Uffizi. The line was so long! A rainy day makes a perfect museum day. We went to the Medici chapel instead and saw the ornate marble tombs that carry the corpses of the Medicis. Another beautiful building with mesmerizing frescos and artwork. I’m so glad I got to go inside (for free), since I pass it at least once or twice a day. We saw more of Michelangelo’s work there.

fullsizerender-2

Sunday is also brunch day! We had a nice spread at Sasha and Olivia’s apartment. Meat, pancakes, toast, mimosas (so ‘adult’), homefries, clementines. It doesn’t get better than that!

We had a flat dinner tonight, and we devoured healthy chicken quesadillas (corn, lemon chicken, red peppers, and onions). It was delicious!

fullsizerender-2

I wrote a five page paper for philosophy yesterday about this scenario. It’ll give you something to chew on. Comment your thoughts!

screen-shot-2017-03-03-at-6-41-01-pm

Here’s hoping you had an exciting weekend! Next weekend I will be jetting to Copenhagen, Denmark. xo ~ e.

4 thoughts on “Free Museum Sunday

  1. Yvonne says:

    You are going to have a difficult time settling down, back at home.

    So, you’d better tell us your conclusion in that dilemma you were posed in philosophy.

  2. Dauenheimer says:

    Hi Emma,

    Just want to let you know that Michelangelo’s David was my inspiration for naming my son David, although I never actually got to see the sculpture in person.

    Love hearing about all your adventures, Nana

  3. ehl9626 says:

    Nana, you learn something new every day! My mom had no idea either. I will be sure that Dave sees the David when he is here. xo

Leave a Reply

