Cani

Sunday, February 19, 2017

I’m not sure how I’m starting my third week of classes tomorrow! I also can’t believe how I was in Venice two weeks ago on my whirlwind return to Florence from Kyiv. It’s starting to feel like spring in February which is pretty awesome. I did lots of spring cleaning today and worked on some upcoming group projects. I have a full day of classes tomorrow (9-5:30) then soccer! I am super excited to get outside and run around. I may or may not be considering joining the Marist Women’s Rugby Club team next year.

Today my grandparents sent me a picture of their sweet Golden Retriever, Goldie. She turned thirteen today! Seeing this picture of her melted my heart. Ever since she was a puppy, Goldie has loved chewing on bones and collecting big rocks. I still recall going with my grandma to a yellow house in Greenwich to pick her out! She was only a few weeks old then, surrounded by her brothers and sisters. I remember pointing out her, because I liked the color of her collar, and she seemed extra snuggly. The day she arrived at Nana & Pop’s house was very exciting. Unfortunately, she did not like car rides then; however, after thirteen years, she’s grown to tolerate them. So have I.  In a way, Goldie and I grew up together. I can’t wait to see her in May.

img_5185

Seeing so many adorable dogs in Florence makes me feel happy. But it also makes me sad, because I miss my pups back home. Although Lad is in Doggy Heaven, I can still picture him running rapidly around our backyard and him and Kiara getting hyped for dinner in our kitchen.

100_2929

Being away from dogs for so long makes me realize how they are such wonderful companions. A true best friend to comfort you during your highest highs and your lowest lows. There’s nothing like being greeted by a dog whether it’s been two hours and two weeks. The day I get home I’m going to play fetch with Kiara and go on a run down Lincoln Lane. I make my parents send me pictures of her at least once a week. My heart skips a beat every time I see a King Charles in Europe, hopeful for just a second that it’s my beloved Kiks.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

This little muffin is practically Kiara’s cousin. Winston Kitajewski joined Nicki and her family in New Jersey in January. He is a pure bred King Charles Cavalier Spaniel. I’m missing out on his youthful days, because by the time I see him, he will be all grown up! Nicki and I were both sad I didn’t get to meet him as a puppy, but she sent me over 300 photos and videos of this little nugget to make up for it. He is precious! And he got to spend a weekend on Syracuse’s campus! Bonus!

img_4301

Life in Florence is so fulfilling, but I do feel as though something is missing without a dog to greet me in my apartment. We frequently pet pups on the street, but it just isn’t the same. Treasure (and treat) your beasties for me while I temporarily can’t! xo ~ e.

Word of the day: cani (dogs)

Sasha made a DELICIOUS chocolate cake today.

fullsizerender

2 thoughts on “Cani

Leave a Reply

