Buongiorno, Firenze!

Monday, February 6, 2017

I have never been more happy in my life to be in Florence. It has been the wildest 24 hours of travel in my life. I woke up at 4:30 AM and made my way to the empty train station.

I got on the regional train to Mestre and saw my train to Florence several platforms over. I didn’t even hesitate to ask the woman who got off with me on the train (we were two of maybe eight passengers) how to get there. She pointed to the underground passage to get to the other platforms. My Italian sufficed!

There was a train worker outside of the train; I showed him my ticket and got on the train. I conveniently got on cabin 7 which is the cabin my seat was assigned to. I sat down and closed my eyes. I thought to myself: You’re almost there. The worst part is over. I didn’t sleep, but I dozed on the two hour ride to Firenze. I was elated to hear “Arrivo a Firenze Santa Maria Novella” at 7:30 AM.

img_4979

I hopped on the crowded bus filled with Italian students to Santa Reparta and jogged through the rain to my apartment. Jill was asleep when I entered the room, and I emptied my backpack and stuffed my notebook, planner, and pencil case in it. Sasha met me for a coffee and yogurt before my 9 AM. I felt at home in La Ménagère. I really needed to eat something at that point; my body felt so weak!

fullsizerender-4

I made it to my 9 AM history class, rested, ate a panino, went to my 3 PM COM class, grocery shopped, showered, called my dad, and I’m about to go to bed now. I prayed for this moment on the plane yesterday! My journey home to Florence has ended. Might as well call me Odysseus 😉 What a start to my second semester! xo ~ e.

Leave a Reply

