Breaking My Coffee Addiction

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Before coming to Italy, I preferred tea over coffee. After four months of living in Italy, I consider myself a coffee person (even though I still enjoy my cups of Earl Grey). While I’ve been here, I’ve consumed cup after cup of cappuccinos and caffè lattes. Undoubtedly they are delicious, for they are some of the best you can get in the world.

I’ve found myself actually becoming addicted to coffee, something I didn’t think could actually happen. On vacation with my parents, we had coffee once or twice a day (at least). After returning from Florence, I promised myself I would cut back on coffee until Prague. I’m on day three of no coffee, and it’s been a challenge.

Part of the symptoms I’ve experienced due to a lack of coffee include:

  • dehydration
  • head aches
  • fatigue
  • lack of motivation and energy
  • not feeling like I can properly start my day
  • cravings

Clearly, the symptoms aren’t very pleasant. I’ve tried to alleviate them by drinking lots of chamomile tea and water. It helps but doesn’t make them go away. My mom told me that one cup o’ joe a day isn’t terrible for you, and she’s right. What bothers me though is that I don’t feel like I can be productive without it. That’s the pattern I’m trying to break.

I know I’m going to drink lots of coffee in Prague and Kiev (Sasha & I have a whole list of coffee shops we want to go to). But when I return to Florence for spring semester, I am going to try and cut back. I’m going to do so by:

  • drinking coffee every other day rather than every day
  • drinking tea as a substitute for coffee
  • cutting back on my weekly coffee budget

If you find yourself drinking coffee too much like me, set some small goals for yourself to cut back. I have to remind myself that I’m in Europe and should take advantage of the amazing coffee while I can. Once I’m back in the U.S., it’s back to drip coffee. And that’s just not the same. xo ~ e.

img_4257

3 thoughts on “Breaking My Coffee Addiction

  1. Adam Morris says:

    Good luck… I gave up caffeine for a couple months, and it took me awhile to get used to. I’m back to drinking just one a day, and it doesn’t seem to impact me… so hopefully the headaches will wear off… coffee is just so awesome.

  2. Nana says:

    Coffee first thing in the morning works for me , just not all day long and especially not at night.
    Lots of studies have been done on coffee and haven’t found anything dangerous but as you know, moderation is the key.

Leave a Reply

