“In fair Verona, where we lay our scene”

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Happy last day of 2016! I hope you are celebrating with good company and good food. Today I enjoyed a day to myself in Verona, Italy. Verona is a place I have always wanted to go to after performing “Romeo & Juliet” in middle school and after watching “Letters to Juliet.” Many consider it the most romantic city in the world because it’s the birthplace of Shakespeare’s two famous lovers. I had a great time wandering around the charming city with thousands of other tourists and locals even without a Romeo! Here are some of the day’s highlights…

_dsc0008

First on my list was Juliet’s House. I felt like Amanda Seyfried when I first entered the small square packed with people. I had to pass through an archway/tunnel, and the walls were covered in people’s handwritten names. Pretty neat although not elegant!

img_3921

“Romeo, Romeo, where art thou Romeo?” I had to time my camera accordingly because people were up on the balcony with their selfie sticks constantly! It’s much smaller than I expected, but I loved the look and history of it.

_dsc0022

After crossing the very old and beautiful Ponte Pietra (Roman arch bridge), I saw a sign to Castel San Pietro. I knew from research it would be a climb but that you would be rewarded with a panoramic view of the city. I’m glad I made the trek because what a view it was!

img_3885

Classic Italian street in Verona– narrow, blue skies, peach houses, elegant balconies, green shutters, bikes resting outside, and flowers for decoration. Just breath taking!

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I did write a letter to Juliet while I was admiring the view from Castel San Pietro. I can’t wait to hear what she has to say.

_dsc0054

After a yummy lunch/snack at Queen’s Chips, I headed to Piazza Bra and the Arena. It is one of the oldest amphitheaters in the world, built in the first century. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see an opera; however, I did get to sit and write in the sun for an hour and watch the sunset!

_dsc0060

View of Piazza Bra from the Arena

Verona is a must-see in Italy. It’s very reachable via train, and you can walk, catch a cab, or take the bus into the city center from the station. It’s easily walkable once you’re in the center. There are also some beautiful churches to see in Verona! I popped my head into the Cathedral and Sant’Anastasia (Gothic style). Impeccable architecture!

I’m getting the real hang of solo travel and look forward to more solo adventures in 2017! xo ~ e.

Leave a Reply

