Felice Anno Nuovo

Sunday, January 1, 2017

Felice Anno Nuovo | Happy New Year!

I rang in the new year with Steven and KT last night with practically every citizen of Florence! It was the first time I saw a mass amount of drunk Italians occupying the street. They replaced the American study abroad students! Unfortunately, the streets were trashed with empty bottles of beer, wine, and Prosecco along with litter and vomit. I can’t help but feel terrible for the poor street cleaners who have to pick up such a mess. I got a taste of what Times Square must be like on December 31! Aside from the mess, the countdown to 2017 was pretty incredible. We hiked up to Piazzale Michelangelo after a last meal of 2016 in the jam packed Mercato Centrale. We could see the entire city of Florence and the fireworks spread out on the horizon and near the Duomo. What a way to celebrate a new year. Very memorable watching the countdown on the Ponte Vecchio and being surrounded by Italians– young and old. We didn’t notice a lot of people kissing at midnight surprisingly. There was a concert after put on by a popular Italian pop artist, and we stayed for a few songs before KT & I realized we really wanted to be in bed! I walked 12 miles yesterday, so I passed out as soon as I hit my mattress.

I can’t wait to see what 2017 has in store. 2016 was a big year for me: graduating from high school, moving to Italy, traveling the most I have in my entire life. Like my parents, I think New Years resolutions are a bit silly (as well as the phrase ‘New year, new me’). It’s good to have goals all the time and not just think about those goals on January 1. With that said, I hope this year brings more travels & travails, warm cappuccinos, interesting classes, lifelong memories, new friendships, good health, and adulthood lessons. So, bring it on 2017! xo ~ e.

Leave a Reply

