I’m Going to Verona

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Still very quiet in Florence! The city truly feels empty without American students swarming the streets; it’s both refreshing and lonesome. There are some American tourists in their place to ring in 2017! I’ve been hanging out at cafés, reading and writing. I FaceTimed my parents this morning, and they are packing up for their European adventure! Tuesday couldn’t come any sooner.

In order to help break up the six day waiting period, I booked a day trip to Verona! I’ll be spending the last day of 2016 in a city I have been dying to go to. Three of Shakespeare’s plays are set there: The Taming of the ShrewThe Two Gentlemen of Verona, and of course, the universal love story: Romeo and Juliet. I loved the movie “Letters to Juliet” starring Amanda Seyfried (re-watching it tonight). It’s set in Verona and introduced me to the idea of writing letters to Juliet. People from all over the world continue to write letters to Juliet, and the Juliet Club responds to each and every one (read more about letters to Juliet here). I tried to reserve a time to go Saturday and respond to letters and read letters sent to her, but they are closed on Saturday. I will have to return to Verona because letter writing is a huge passion of mine, and hanging out at the Juliet Club is a once in a lifetime experience!

I did my research today and made a list of the must-sees in Verona. Please feel free to comment your suggestions! xo ~ e.

A Saturday in Verona

  • Juliet’s Balcony
  • Juliet’s House
  •  Piazza delle Erbe
  • Piazza Bra
  • Arena
  • Lamberti Tower
  • Ponte Pietra
  • Verona Cathedral
  • Santa Anastasia
  • San Zeno
  • Giusti Garden
  • Castel San Pietro
One thought on “I’m Going to Verona

  1. Lea Graham says:

    Emma, I hope you had a great time in Verona! Also, enjoy your time with your family. It’s great to read about what is going on in your Florence and elsewhere. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

