Ciao Ciao for Now

Friday, December 16, 2016

I have to admit… It’s harder than I thought it would be to say goodbye to my friends for a few weeks! Some are home for the holidays before returning to Europe to travel, and some will be home until spring semester starts (in February). Our small FFE group truly feels like a family, and I’m going to miss seeing its members walking home from Conad and passing them on our apartment building’s stairs. I’ll be happy to see them again whenever I do; it’ll feel like time never passed, yet we’ll all have new stories to tell. Part of my sadness stems from the fact that first semester is truly over. I’m not quite sure what to do with myself without work or school! Luckily, I have lots of travels in store and time to myself in Firenze.

Tonight a few of us took a walk to Piazzale Michelangelo to watch the sunset. There were close to one hundred other American semester students sitting on the same steps, except they were saying goodbye to Florence for a much longer time than any of us are (for now). I saw several people from my public speaking class and others I’ve seen around the city. The great thing about Florence is that the city itself feels like a campus. You see the same people on a somewhat regular basis which makes it feel more like a community whether you talk to them or not. All of us are hoping to make more of an effort to make friends from other schools next semester. After all, we won’t be in the same Marist classes together, and we’ll know exactly what we’re doing!

Colleen turns 19 tomorrow! This will be the rare occasion when she will have a 30 hour birthday (with the time difference). She’s flying home on her birthday, hopefully with no delays due to the snow storm hitting the east coast. I saw Meghan off this morning, and Jill left at 4 AM. Sarah leaves tomorrow morning, and then it’ll be just one in Flat 14! “It’s not goodbye; it’s see you later.” First semester may be over, but my time in Florence isn’t! xo ~e.

Leave a Reply

