Sick in Florence

Saturday, December 10, 2016

I have the worst luck with exams and illness! This morning I woke up with a gnarly sore throat. I slept in late, hoping that it would make the soreness disappear. Unfortunately, it didn’t. I went to get a bagel at Mama’s Bakery with Isabel; on the way home, I picked up some ingredients for chicken noodle soup. This afternoon I’ve been napping, watching “Gilmore Girls”, eating soup, and hydrating with tea, water, and ACE juice. I’ve tried so hard not to stress about exams, and I don’t feel that stressed. It must be a cold circulating through the apartments.

Here’s a photo from the tree lighting Thursday night. I was somewhere on the right of the tree (not shot in the frame). It was such a festive event! xo ~e.

daniela-verma-christmas-tree-e1481112452342

Source: Daniela Verma

Sunday, December 11, 2016

It’s me again, and I am still sick. I slept for 16 hours last night, and I fear my cold is getting worse. I’m hoping it’s moving along. I went for a walk this morning to get some tissues, ACE juice, a baguette, and cough drops. It felt good to leave the apartment for a little while. I would like to nap less today so I can sleep tonight. I have my First Year Seminar exam tomorrow at 9 AM! It’s an in-class essay on “What does travel mean to you?” I’ve been pondering this question a lot, and I’ve prepared to the best of my ability. It’s the perfect prompt for this course since I have shifted my views on travel while studying abroad and living in Florence.

A week from today I will be in Rome with Juliana! I can’t wait for exams to be over, first semester cleaning, and to see my freshman roommate after so many years.

A huge congratulations to my ring sister, Sasha, for her acceptance to Wellesley College! I am so proud of her accomplishments, and I can’t wait to hear about her next four years at one of the best women’s colleges in the country. The senior class is officially in the midst of Revels week, and I remember fondly the stress, joy, and fatigue of Revels week. I am so bummed I will not be able to attend this year, but I can’t wait to hear all about it. Here’s a photo from my Revels last year. xo ~e.

15259788_10209755458956528_8337298412863947293_o

One thought on “Sick in Florence

Leave a Reply

