Coffee Cupping

Friday, December 9, 2016

Florence is still packed after the holiday yesterday! It’s that time of year, I suppose. Today I had my last volunteering session with the bambini. The kids were not very talkative today, so I didn’t get to interact with them too much. I think they have the holiday buzz like us college kids. I truly enjoyed my volunteer experience and plan on doing it next semester if it’s offered!

This afternoon Amelia, Vasudha, Olivia, Sasha, Jill, Colleen, and I went to Ditta Artigianale on Via dello Sprone for a ‘Coffee Cupping’ (courtesy of Sasha’s planning & idea). We’ve all become coffee fanatics, so of course we pounced on a free opportunity to learn about coffee. We heard some baristas talk and smelled a variety of different coffees. They switched between English and Italian. Italian was beneficial for us! If we were fully immersed in Italian, our speaking would improve increasingly. My goal for next semester is to force myself into situations where English isn’t commonly spoken. It’s challenging here but very possible. Anyways, the coffee cupping was very cool! We had a lot of fun. Check out my photos below taken with my Nikon. xo ~e.

Phrase of the day: Abbiamo viaggeremo a Budapest! (We will travel to Budapest– bought train tickets to Pisa today)

_dsc0017

It’s always coffee time (except not past 2 PM for me)

_dsc0046

The owner talking to us and a barista on the left

_dsc0019

They put all us Americans at one table

_dsc0033

Wonderful smells

_dsc0041

Per me, caffè!

Leave a Reply

