Me Time

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

fullsizerender-2

Piazzale Michelangelo is the perfect escape

Today on my day off I desperately needed some me time. I love my friends here and being in the heart of the city, but sometimes I just need some space to clear my head! I drafted my 8 pages Writing for College at my bookstore café then headed out for a walk to Piazzale Michelangelo. I called my dad on the phone before plopping myself on the steps to journal for an hour and soak in this unreal view. The Duomo looks so far away, but it only take 20 minutes or so to walk there from where this photo was taken.

I journaled a lot about Florence and pondered my life in Florence. It’s truly a dream come true. I tried to write down as many details as I could about the people I see every day and the places I go regularly. I don’t want to forget these small details because they are equally as important as domestic and international travels.

I listened to live music at Piazzale Michelangelo; there are always live performers there. He sang “Imagine”, and it pulled at my heart’s strings. It was so nice soaking in the warm sunshine with a bunch of strangers on the steps. I feel recharged and refocused. Everyone needs some alone time, so if you haven’t had some in a while, I encourage you to cut some time out of your daily schedule to make some! xo ~e.

2 thoughts on “Me Time

  1. Nana says:

    “Everyone need some alone time” I agree and I’m glad you can get some in such an inspiring place. Enjoy.

  2. Lucy I. says:

    I am happy you know how to take care of your heart/soul by having alone time. Also delighted to see the view from Piazzale Michelangelo. I have a photo of my brother and me in that spot from July 2000. “Imagine” e una canzone speciale per me. It was one of the songs by the brass quintet at my ordination service.

Leave a Reply

