Happy Turkey Day

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Happy Turkey Day from Firenze! Sitting in class for 5.5 hours was not my ideal Thanksgiving, but it is still a day to give thanks and appreciate all that we gratefully have. I am getting ready for our Italian-American Thanksgiving dinner right now; I can’t wait. I felt a tad homesick today because I’m not home for my favorite holiday, and it isn’t recognized here by Italians. To ease my homesickness, I did some journaling on past Thanksgivings that were celebrated at home. I thought I would share my reflections with you.

I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving. Take a moment and make a list of what you are thankful for because there is so much to be! xo ~e.

I have celebrated a majority of my Thanksgivings at Nana & Pop’s house. It’s the only Thanksgiving I know, and it’s the best. Dave, Louise, and Carl would normally arrive late Wednesday night, and the LeMays and Granny Barb would arrive in the afternoon on Thanksgiving Thursday. The Dauenheimers blue Toyota would be in the driveway, and sometimes Elita and Roger’s Sudan would wait there too. The dogs (Goldie, Ranger, Charlie, and Kiara) would greet us before Mom, Dad and I would bring the green beans or Brussels sprouts and homemade cranberry sauce upstairs.

As soon as we opened the door upstairs, it smelled like Thanksgiving: family and food. Nana, Pop & Louise would be in the kitchen, and Nana would say “Hey, look who’s here” before giving us hugs and cheek kisses. We’d hug Dave, Louise, Carl, and Ranger then eat hors d’oeuvres and help cook in the kitchen. I’d sit on the counter table and answer questions about Emma Willard and college. We’d chat, eat, and drink as we waited for all the guests. Pop would always say, “Someone’s coming up the driveway.” We wouldn’t know who until they entered the door upstairs. We’d all say “Happy Thanksgiving!” whenever someone new entered the warm house. Normally it was the Rosses, Leslie & Howard, Kelly one year, and someone from UUs.

The living room and kitchen were always loud as we all snacked and chatted. Mom & I typically set the table around 6 PM. When the food was all set out on the counter and Pop finished carving the turkey, Nana rung the dinner bell. We’d all gather and sing a hymn to the best of our abilities before claiming our seats and filling our plates. I go back and forth between the sun room and the dining room every year. There was always an abundance of green salad, turkey, gravy, stuffing, green beans, Brussels sprouts, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, and pumpkin pie. Doesn’t get better than that.

We would thoroughly enjoy the delicious food and company. It was the rare one day of the year when we were all together in the same house. Clearly it was special. I’ll always associate my Thanksgivings with food and family at Nana and Pop’s. This year everyone in the family is celebrating in their own ways, but I hope next year we will all be together again.

One thought on “Happy Turkey Day

Leave a Reply

