From Market to Plate

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

We had quite the celebration for Jill’s 19th last night! 15 of us went out for a night on the town. We went to Tijuana’s for Margarita Monday everyone raves about. After that, we wandered around and saw other American study abroad students out and about. Many people had 9 AMs this morning, but I didn’t, so I slept till 9 after getting back too late for a school night! We had fun though, and Jill loved being with her friends for her birthday.

As soon as I got up this morning, I went to the Mercato Centrale to buy some fresh produce before sitting down and doing homework for a majority of the day. I haven’t gone nearly as much as I thought I would. I bought a hefty salmon filet for 7 euros and some vegetables: cauliflower, red peppers, spinach, and potatoes. I scraped by with my Italian and was grateful that the food vendors did not speak in English to me. I was proudest for ordering a half a kilo of chicken uncut. Tonight for dinner after a quick work out I made myself a delicious dinner. Have a look:

img_3073

I hope that I will continue to utilize the market more, especially during winter break. The holiday lights are coming out in Florence, even the Thanksgiving isn’t a tradition here! xo ~e.

 

Leave a Reply

