My Dream Job

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Happy hump day, everyone. My Italian quiz did not go as well as it should have, for we weren’t assessed accurately on the material we have covered in class. I can only hope that I passed! I have practically my entire speech memorized for tomorrow morning and even went to the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella today to practice it.

I got a letter from a fellow Emma Girl today which cheered me up. Ella, I know you’re reading this, so thank you! She is in the midst of her senior year, college applications, and Revels preparations. It’s all so familiar yet so distant. Emma Willard School recently appeared in an article that ranked it #11 in best all-girls high schools in the country. I am forever grateful for my four years at Emma, and they are serving me well thus far.

In the panel on Monday, we were all asked a question that I didn’t have time to answer in the moment, so I’m answering it now, to you: What is your dream job?

When I was little, I dreamed of being a lawyer. I remember doing a project in eighth grade, and one of the guests, a lawyer, told my mom or grandma, “She’s going to be a lawyer someday.” For a while, I held on to that idea. I knew it was a well paying job, and I could do something I was passionate about, like be a lawyer for families wanting to adopt.

I began to let go of that temporary dream throughout my high school years. As I got more into creative writing and thinking about majoring in communication, my goal to become a lawyer slowly dissipated. I have barely started my college career and haven’t dived into my major’s courses yet; however, I know that I want to do something in the creative field. I see myself working as a public relations manager, in editorial or marketing, an event planner, a creative planner, a social media director, a digital strategist, or something of that nature. I can’t say that I have a specific dream job in mind, but I have an idea of where I’m heading. And for now, I think that’s good enough; there is plenty of time. Now I just need to focus on being a study abroad student! xo ~ e.

One thought on “My Dream Job

Leave a Reply

