Volunteering Experience #2

Friday, November 11, 2016

At 12:30 today, I volunteered at the local elementary school for the second time! Last week I sat at a table with the fifth graders, and this week I sat with the adorable first graders. The five and six year olds were quite shy, and like the fifth graders, their English proficiency varied.

There were more college volunteers this week, so there were three at each table. Our topic this week was daily routines. We had cartoons doing things like: brushing teeth, waking up, eating breakfast, going to school, doing homework, getting dressed, etc… We had the little ones point and say them aloud in English. I worked a lot with a little girl I sat next to, and her English was very limited. She would do the actions when I pointed to them, so I knew she understood; however, she was very timid when it came to verbally saying them. We did them probably six times, and towards the end, she started to feel more confident. It was very cool seeing her break out of her shell by talking in English and smiling. She was very interested in learning which I especially liked! She unintentionally helped me practice my Italian because I heard her say the actions in Italian, and they are actions we are currently studying.

Another great experience volunteering. Next week I’m going to miss out since we are going on a class trip, but I’ll be back two weeks from now! xo ~e.

Word of the day: fare la doccia (to take a shower)

Leave a Reply

