Culture Shock #5

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Something that I have still not gotten used to in the past two months is the smell of cigarettes lingering in Florence. I was not expecting so many people to smoke here! It’s worse than the U.S. and maybe even worse than China. It’s normal to see people my age smoking at night in the city center. While walking on the street, I have to pass a lot of people to avoid the smell of smoke because people often walk and smoke simultaneously. In addition, at cafés and restaurants, there are always ash trays on the tables. When I walk to class every morning, I pass this one café on my street where people sit and enjoy a cappuccino and a cigarette outside. It has definitely been a culture shock and not the most positive one. The smell can be nauseating; we are just lucky people don’t smoke inside! xo ~e.

Word of the day: viaggiare (to travel)

Leave a Reply

