Venice Day 2

Saturday, October 29, 2016

Today was filled with a lot more wandering around and exploring! I woke up around 8 and had a very light breakfast (coffee and yogurt) in the hostel before doing some writing. I saw a few other young people and an older woman up and about. We all said hello but didn’t really get to know each other. Next time I’ll be more social because it is cool to hear what other people are doing.

I left the hostel around 9:30 and headed out for the day. My train left at 6:30 PM, so I had the entire day to myself in Venice. I wandered again, took lots of photos, and thought about authenticity. I went to the Rialto Market which was very cool. Lots of locals there buying flowers, fish, fruits, meat, and vegetables. That was one of my favorite places, reminding me of the Mercato Centrale in Florence. I bought a banana and a tomato for one euro as a quick snack.

For lunch, I had a bowl of wonton soup at a Chinese restaurant. I practiced my Italian, English, and Chinese all in one dining experience! After lunch, I wandered around a park where kids played on the playground and their parents read on red benches. I also called my parents because I was feeling a little lonely. The only people I talked to were waiters or store workers. Speaking of stores, I bought myself a Venetian glass necklace and some stationery:)

_dsc0055

I got fried fish in the early afternoon at a place called Acqua & Mais. People raved about this ‘authentic’ Venetian street food. It was rather delicious! Before I knew it, the sun was getting ready to set, and my departure time grew imminent. I went inside the church with the inviting steps and sat and wrote on its steps until I headed to the train station. I got takeaway noodles and decided to be brave and try the local Venetian cuddle fish sauce. The sauce turned the pasta black, but it tasted delicious!

_dsc0009

I made it on to my train and back to Florence safely. It was quite the pilgrimage, and I’m so glad I went by myself. Traveling alone teaches you a lot about the world and yourself. Some people never get to travel alone, but I’m proud to say I have in a foreign country as an eighteen year old. Venice is as beautiful as people describe it as. Certainly a must-see in Italy! I will post more photos when I have better wifi! xo ~e.

Leave a Reply

