Running and Pizza

Monday, October 10, 2016

So it was one of those days in Florence where I was feeling a little blue. I am stressed out about classes, grades, midterms, my four year plan. It was the coldest day we’ve had in Florence (58 degrees fahrenheit). And I missed Vermont a little extra. I decided against going to soccer because my friend, Isabel, invited a group of us to dinner with her parents and sisters. I couldn’t refuse Simbiosi (one of my favorite pizza places in Florence). It was a tough decision though because exercise makes me feel a lot better, especially when I’m stressed. Luckily, I found a solution: going on a two mile run in Florence!

My run was great. Not going to lie, it’s only the second one I’ve done in Florence. But it was very nice, despite dodging people left and right! There was a golden glow from the emerging sunset, and I ran around the Duomo and across the Arno. I sat on one of the bridges and pondered about life for 5 minutes before continuing on my run. That was a nice moment of peacefulness and rejuvenation. I left my phone at home and found the post office to pick up my package from Mom without Google Maps! I didn’t know exactly where it was, but I figured it out. I was proud of myself. Of course I forgot my passport, so I couldn’t pick up my package. I’ll have to do it tomorrow!

I felt a lot better eating almost 10 slices of pizza after going on my run. We had a great time eating all different types of pizza. I tried truffles for the first time today. Scrumptious! Isabel’s parents also got wine to make it a “posh” Italian dinner. It was so nice laughing with everyone and having a carefree night over delicious, organic pizza. I’m very happy I went.

img_1906

View from my seat at Simbiosi

I have a lot to do tomorrow, but I’m participating in a coffee tasting sponsored by LdM in the morning! Can’t wait to drink some coffee. I love that I can drink coffee and tea without sugar now! xo ~e.

word of the day: buonanotte (goodnight [as in going to sleep])

Leave a Reply

