The Week Before Midterms

Sunday, October 9, 2016

It was a relaxing and lonely (in a good way) weekend in Florence! I feel ready to tackle this week, which is good since it’s the week before midterms. It’s important for everyone to go to all their classes this week because we’ll get key info about our midterms. I have to say, I’m nervous! These midterms count a lot towards our grades, and I didn’t have to take midterms in high school. I’m most worried about Italian since I didn’t do so well on the first quiz. Hopefully I can get redemption! I’m going to start reviewing throughout the week. Luckily, my FYS and Writing for College midterms are take home papers.

This weekend I spent a lot of time cleaning the apartment, so it looks really nice. I swept all the floors, did all the dishes and my laundry, cleaned the bathroom. Feels good to do some fall cleaning! Too bad the mosquitos are still here.

A lot of people traveled this weekend, but no one is doing any major trips next weekend. However, we’re all getting excited for fall break! Counting down the days to relaxing on the beaches of Ibiza. I am planning on doing a day trip to Lucca Saturday if I can get enough studying in before then. I can always bring some work on the train.

This weekend there were a few famous famous in Florence. Tom Hanks’ new movie Inferno premiered here, and some of my favorite bloggers attended! They were wandering throughout the city at places I go to every day. I saw them late last night in their five star hotel lobby. Part of me wanted to go say hi, but the shy (and respectful) part of me said not to. Someone in our group did get a chance to meet Tom and get his autograph. I wonder who else will be in Florence while we are here. At the end of the day, we’re all people.

Last night was also the first time I saw so many young Italians out! Sonia, Lauren, and I walked around midnight to pick up Sasha at the Lion’s Fountain (an American-geared bar) and walk her home, and there were so many Italians out. We’ve felt like they’ve been hiding while all the tourists were here! It was fun seeing them hanging out on the streets in the rain. Definitely memorable.

The pictures my friends and family are sending me from home make me sad I’m not there to see the foliage in person. The reds are really starting to emerge! But I’ll be able to experience fall on the Hudson next year which will me exciting too. xo ~e.

Leave a Reply

