A MSS Reunion

Sunday, September 25, 2016

It’s starting to feel like fall in Firenze! This morning it was about 50 degrees when I woke up, but now it’s 80. This weekend my classmate from middle school, Maddie, came to visit me! She’s studying in Switzerland this semester and managed to come down here for a weekend. It was great spending time with her and seeing a familiar face in Florence. We ate good food, window shopped, and did lots of walking. We stayed at an air b n b about half an hour from my apartment; it was a different part of town that I wouldn’t have come across if we weren’t staying there!

Today was the Corri la Vita race for breast cancer awareness. I signed up a few weeks ago to run the 5K, but I ended up not finishing because there were so many people! The Piazza del Duomo was so packed we couldn’t move. I couldn’t get myself up to where the runners, so I was stuck with the walkers. I would have walked the entire time then eventually run, but I was pressed for time because Maddie’s train left at 1. I felt bad not finishing, especially because I was really looking forward to it, but it was an experience as well as motivation to start running daily! Here’s a photo from the Corri la Vita Instagram to get a sense of how many people were there:

screen-shot-2016-09-25-at-1-30-55-pm

Courtesy of @corrilavita on Instagram

We’re heading into our fourth week of classes. I have a speech on Thursday and an essay due Friday. Starting to feel like a real college student! No travel plans for next weekend, but I might take a day trip to Cinque Terre while it’s still warm. Stay tuned! Hope everyone had a fabulous weekend. xo ~e.

Leave a Reply

