It’s Not Always “Gucci” in Florence

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

As lucky and grateful as I am to be spending the next nine months of my life in Florence, there are certainly moments that aren’t all positive. For example, today I learned that I did not receive a Marist Italy Office Assistant/Ambassador position. I spent a lot of time and put in a lot of effort into my resumé, references, and cover letter. Plus, I felt like I would be a great fit for the job with my previous experience as a tour guide and peer-ed at Emma Willard and an intern at MJG Interiors. I was also hopeful of getting one out of the three positions because I have a work study included in my financial aid package.

Turns out, it wasn’t in the cards for me. My roommate and Sasha both got the job, so I’m excited for them even with the twinge of my disappointment. I realized that the whole job process is kind of like the college admissions process. You could be exactly what they’re looking for, but it isn’t the right match. I just have to believe and trust that and move on with my life as a student. I’ll have more time to travel, study, write, cook, and blog! I knew coming into this experience, there would be positives and negatives, and as predicted, I reached a negative today. Luckily, there will be many more positives (and negatives) to come.

My Italian quiz went well today (I think I passed), and tomorrow is the start to the weekend! xo ~e.

 

One thought on “It’s Not Always “Gucci” in Florence

  1. Dauenheimer says:

    I know you’re disappointed but the true measure of a person is in how they respond to adversity.

    There is no doubt in my mind that you are able to handle whatever comes along.

    Pop

Leave a Reply

