Caponata di Verdure

 

Thursday, September 15, 2016

It’s the weekend! Tomorrow morning I’ll be on a train to Rome at 8:30 AM. I’m excited to explore another famous Italian city with my friends and celebrate Sasha’s birthday. I won’t have access to my blog while I am there, but I will catch up when I return on Sunday.

Today in Topics in Nutrition we cooked our first recipe: Caponata di Verdure. It’s an eggplant dish with tomato sauce that includes onions, raisins, vinegar, and pine nuts. It was delicious! Louis and I are cooking partners for the semester, and every pair has their own station in our cooking lab at the Mercato Centrale. It’s always been my dream to work in a kitchen like this, and it’s being fulfilled in Florence of all places! The room is surrounded by glass, so people at the market stop to watch us; I know how a goldfish feels. They took lots of pictures, gave us the thumbs up, and observed our class. I saw a man wearing a Saratoga Race Track baseball hat. I motioned to it and smiled. It’s a small world. Here are some photos!

This afternoon I worked on my seminar journal on a bright yellow chair at Caffetteria delle Oblate. I had a perfect view of the Duomo, and I was surrounded by other American and Italian students who had the same idea. It’s definitely a place I’ll be returning to, and it’s a hidden gem because you have to walk up two flights of stairs to a terrace!

Tonight Amelia and I walked to the Arnold River and sat on the bridge to watch the sunset. The moon is almost full! Absolutely stunning. We stopped at the market for a bowl of pasta, a beer, and a cannoli.

img_1169

I hope everyone has a fun and safe weekend. Enjoy the mid-September weather! We’re moving down to the 80s this week! xo ~e.

Leave a Reply

