Remembering 9/11

Sunday, September 11, 2016

Fifteen years ago from today, the United States suffered a devastatingly tragic terrorist attack by Muslim extremists involved in Al-Qaeda. 9/11 will always be a day remembered by every American. It’s a day that we mourn the loss of thousands. In addition, it’s a day that we pray about a world  that won’t be filled with so much violence and hatred.

Fifteen years ago from today, my mom picked me up early from daycare after she got a call from her father to turn on the news. She told me that all the parents picked up their kids early that day in order to spend the day with family. Obviously I don’t remember this day, but sometimes I feel as though I do.

In the past, I’ve talked about the events of 9/11 in class. Our teachers have explained it to us several times. I remember in eighth grade, Mrs. Mangiacotti had us listen to a song by her favorite singer, Bruce Springsteen, that was dedicated to September 11. I’ve heard stories about people who worked in the Twin Towers that morning but managed to survive due to timing. As a child, I never understood why people would do something so terrible. It remains impossible for me to wrap my head around it.

Today is a Sunday, and I am not in the United States. I’m thousands of miles away from it with ocean and land separating us. When I go to the grocery store today, people won’t understand the impact this day has on Americans. Some may not even know what 9/11 is for all I know. Regardless, may we remember those who lost their lives fifteen years ago today. They were lives that shouldn’t have been taken.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Remembering 9/11

Leave a Reply

