The Night Before College

Sunday, September 4, 2016

9:30 PM

It’s the night before my first day of college, and I’m feeling excited and nervous. I’ve waited 18 years to go to college, and a majority of my life’s events have led up to this very moment. I have my family and friends to thank for helping me get here, and they’ll play a pivotal role in my college experience no matter what. I have them to thank for constantly giving me their support, guidance, and confidence.

One year ago I began the applying to college process. I asked for recommendations, touched up my college essay, and carefully filled out my common application.If you asked me where I would be going to college two years ago, I would have said “I’m not going to get into college.”If you asked me a year ago where I saw myself a year from now, I would have never guessed studying in Florence, Italy. But like I’ve said many times before, life’s full of surprises; that’s what makes it so unpredictable and amazing.

Starting college in a foreign country is something I’ll always be grateful for. This experience has already been incredible, and I know there is so much more to learn and look forward to in the next nine months. The director of Marist Italy reminded us that we will have some really good days and some really bad days. That’s what makes this experience worthwhile.

I am stressed about figuring out how college classes work, studying for the daunting mid-terms and finals, and completing papers and assignments; however, I can only hope that my four years of Emma Willard will serve me well. I’m confident they will. Failing out of college is an irrational fear, but it still manages to fight its way into my brain here and there.

This semester I’m taking:

  • First Year Seminar
  • Writing for College
  • Elementary Italian
  • Public Speaking & Presentation Skills
  • Topics in Nutrition: Italian Style Cooking

I really like my class schedule (3 classes Monday & Wednesday, 2 classes Thursday, and none Tuesday and Friday)! I can’t complain about a couple 9 AMs. Stay tuned about how my classes are going!

So tomorrow is officially the start of a new chapter: my college career. I’ve missed being in the classroom because I thrive in a school environment. Plus, it’ll keep me busy in Florence! xo ~e.

*I went to IKEA today and only spent 30 euros! Always working on my student budgeting.

2 thoughts on “The Night Before College

  1. Fluency says:

    Studying in another country is always an amazing experience, and as an international student too (not in Italy though), I can vouch for that!

Leave a Reply

