Chianti Wine Tour

Saturday, September 3, 2016

I am exhausted! I decided that I would wind down this weekend in preparation for classes Monday. Today we went on a wine tour! More free food (and wine)! We left around 9:30 AM and arrived close to 11:30 AM. We had a gorgeous drive admiring the vineyards, mountains, and traditional Italian countryside. There were plenty of green mountains, but they surely weren’t Vermont’s green mountains.

Once we got to the winery, we each got a glass and were served a variety of wines- a white, a rosé, and three reds. It was the most alcohol I had ever consumed, and not going to lie, I felt it (even though it was spaced out and the portions were small). I felt slightly spacey and clumsy, and that’s when I knew that my wine tasting had come to an end. Fortunately, we had a lovely four course lunch they served us and several glasses of water that got me feeling normal again. We were all so happy to be eating pasta (two different kinds) after not having it for a few days! Last week we were complaining about all the pasta. The view from the vineyard was breathtaking, and I felt like I was on the movie set of The Parent Trap. I even stole a grape off one of the vines.

I’ve been in my apartment since we got back, and I’m enjoying a quiet night home. I’m going to shower and grab a bite to eat with Amelia (another Vermonter). We love walking the streets at night, and we’ve decided to wear sweatpants and a t shirt out. You can take a girl out of Vermont, but you can’t take Vermont out of a girl. xo ~e.

Leave a Reply

