The Day Before Departure

The nerves are deeply settled and the adrenaline is running high. Tomorrow I’ll be flying thousands of miles across the Atlantic Ocean to spend my freshman year of college in a foreign country.

When my family and I sat on Quillen porch in Maine this past weekend, my dad remarked, “It’s easier just to leave rather than to think about leaving. Thinking about leaving drags the process out.” This sums up how I’ve felt about my trip to Florence recently. I’ve thought about it so much and have already said so many tough goodbyes that now I just want to leave and begin my adventure. No more tears. No more thinking about what could go wrong. Time to hop on that plane and not look back.

I can’t wait for this year ahead. I’ve never been to Europe before, and I know there will be so much to learn in and out of the classroom, so much to soak in, and so much delicious food to eat. This is quite the way to begin a college career. I’m excited to meet my classmates and locals all over Europe. However, I’m going to miss my high school, friends, and family more than I ever have.

I’m going to try and blog every day about my experiences in Firenze, and I hope you’ll follow along. Here’s to an unforgettable freshman year! Buon viaggio! xo ~e.

Posted in: FFE

One thought on “The Day Before Departure

  1. Anonymous says:

    I will be following, Emma! Develop your talents, trust your instincts, and follow your desires. You will then follow your path. Love you and know you have everything inside you to guide you on your path. 💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛

Leave a Reply

