Celebrating an Anniversary

A blog may not be an ideal place to write about the very personal aspects involved in one’s personal life; however, today I’m making an exception. Jacob and I celebrated our first year anniversary, and I can’t help but gush about it.

In the past 365 days, we have developed a healthy and solid relationship. At Emma Willard, getting a boyfriend wasn’t a priority (getting an A on the next math test was). But I always had that itch in the back of my head, telling me that some day my patience would pay off and I would meet a nice young man who I could connect with. Like they say, life’s unexpected. Reconnecting with a six year old boy I remember running on the soccer field with was certainly unexpected.

Jacob and I talked briefly two summers ago but last summer something clicked. It must’ve been those long shifts at the West Mountain Inn and counseling young kids at John Werner’s soccer camp. A year ago we had our first date. We ate at Cilantro before droving to Hamilton Falls (got lost a few times) and hiked one of Vermont’s gems. We swam in the freezing cold water then watched “Pocahontas” at his house after our eventful afternoon. I couldn’t have asked for a more relaxed and natural first date!

Although we are young, we aren’t naive when it comes to love. The idea that “teenagers don’t really know what love is” is an idea that I like to challenge. Sure, we have a lot to experience and lessons to learn, but we also know who and what makes us feel special, cared for, and comfortable. My parents have been married for 28 years, and they always remind me, “The trick to finding a compatible partner is being friends. You have to genuinely like hanging out with that person.” Jacob and I have found that in each other. He truly is a best friend whose company I treasure very much.

Jacob has reminded me that gentlemen still do exist. He treats me extremely well, and I always feel respected by him. Our coworkers at the inn say he is one of the employees because he is always willing to do any task without complaining. I admire his determination, maturity, and drive to succeed every day.

We’ve spent lots of time together and with our friends but also with our families. I recently went to Florida when his parents generously invited me to Jacksonville with them. And Jacob has been to several of my family’s dinners and outings. The moments when we are with each other’s family are especially meaningful.

A lot has happened this past year on both of our ends. But we made it through together. We’ve had countless amazing moments along with some tough moments, but that’s bound to happen in any friendship.  I can’t thank him enough for his endless support, encouragement, and motivation. It gets harder every day thinking about leaving for Florence without him. My mom constantly tells me, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

So here’s to Jacob. Thank you for being you and for an extraordinary year of friendship! It has been a privilege getting to know you in addition to sharing our seventeen & eighteen year old lives together.

xo ~e.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 8.47.29 PM.png

Snapped by Fayla on the streets of downtown Saratoga last week

 

 

Leave a Reply

