Mother’s Day

_DSC0198

Mother’s Day is one of my favorite holidays. It’s a special holiday because it’s celebrated internationally– not just in America. And it’s a holiday that celebrates one of the strongest group of people in the world: moms!

I love my mom. That’s a statement I never have to question, even during our rare and abnormal “rough patches.” I take pride in telling people that my mom is my best friend. I can rely on her for anything and everything. There’s not a day that goes by where we don’t talk. We push each other to achieve our goals, supporting each other along the way. I am beyond grateful to have such a strong female role model in my life. My mom inspires me every day to be caring, driven, smart, and human every single day. When I was a freshman, it was extremely challenging not to sit down and be able to talk to my mom in person after school. I am surely going to miss that next year after spending the summer home with her. However, I am excited that she will also pursue her love for traveling by taking on a new job as a traveling occupational therapist.

Every year I’ve cooked my mom breakfast in bed on Mother’s Day. This year was no exception (I fear next year it will be, for we will be in different countries). I woke up at 6:30 AM to put together a simple yet healthy and delicious breakfast for my mama.

  • Scrambled eggs
  • Emma’s avo toast
  • Freshly squeezed OJ
  • Blueberry yog w/raspberries

In reality, my mom deserves breakfast in bed every morning, but that’s just not realistic. It’s still nice to be able to do it once a year, and I know my mom thoroughly enjoys it. I hope someday when I’m a mom, my kid(s) will make me breakfast in bed on Mother’s Day!

My mom, Nana, and two friends from school also enjoyed Mother’s Day at Tulip Fest in Albany, New York! This was the first time we went to Tulip Fest (Nana went when she was a teenager though). Some teenagers use the opportunity to be too lit at Tulip Fest, but we enjoyed taking pictures of the flowers, sipping on jumbo lemonades I haven’t had since middle school soccer tournaments, and strolling through the different street vendor tents. It rained all morning, but the sun came out for us in the afternoon. It was a wonderful way to celebrate such a special day. I’m so glad Nicki and Sasha could be a part of it since they couldn’t be with their moms.

Although Mother’s Day should be a holiday centered on appreciation and happiness, I acknowledge that it can be bittersweet. Not everyone has a mom who they are close to or a mom who is present in their lives. I can only hope that people reflect on how much most moms provide and love their children, despite the complexity mother-child relationships can hold. Here’s to the moms and their moms who have brought us into the world. We wouldn’t be here without you! xo ~e.

 

 

 

One thought on “Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

