17 Songs that will Make You Reconsider Hating Country Music

Let’s face it: a lot of people hate country music. It’s easy to slip into the mindset of ‘Country is all about hillbillies, drinking whiskey, and tractors.’ Sure, some country songs are about those things, but there are so many other country songs that are not. I started listening to country music about two years ago. I figured it was time to expand my music taste from strictly the pop I listen to on the radio. I even went to a Luke Bryan concert two summers ago at SPAC. He brought Lee Brice and Cole Swindell with him as guest stars. I’ve learned that country music is very relaxing for me. It’s probably my favorite genre to listen to on a summer day with the windows rolled down. In Pittsburgh, Fayla and I only listened to country music in the car ride. Listening to country music has also allowed me to branch out and explore other genres. Turns out, I enjoy listening to folk and indie music too.

Some music genres aren’t for everyone, but it can’t hurt to change it up and listen to something different. So if you have convinced yourself that you hate country music, give a listen to these songs (I even got my mom to become a Luke Bryan fan). They may lead you towards listening to a country playlist on Spotify or Pandora. xo ~e.

  • Beautiful Drug by Zac Brown Band
  • Die a Happy Man by Thomas Rhett
  • Mayday by Cam
  • Play It Again by Luke Bryan
  • Think of You by Chris Young feat. Cassadee Pope
  • Playing with Fire by Thomas Rhett feat. Jordin Sparks
  • Love Story by Taylor Swift
  • Crazy Girl by Eli Young Band
  • Roller Coaster by Luke Bryan
  • Take Your Time by Sam Hunt
  • Home Alone Tonight by Luke Bryan feat. Karen Fairchild
  • Stupid Boy by Keith Urban
  • Little Toy Guns by Carrie Underwood
  • Live Like You Were Dying by Tim McGraw
  • Tim McGraw by Taylor Swift
  • Burnin’ it Down by Jason Aldean (per Kayla’s suggestion)

*I do not own any of the media posted. The links are copied directly from YouTube, and they are products of and belong to the artists and their record labels*

One thought on “17 Songs that will Make You Reconsider Hating Country Music

Leave a Reply

